What’s for dessert, Mommy?

20140302-163511.jpg

“What are we having for dessert Mommy?” This question is the first thing my 3 yr old asks me when we set the table for dinner. “It’s a surprise!” I tell him. It is hardly a surprise. I am sure he knows because he sees me making the dessert. Sometimes he is even the assistant chef. And we have the same thing for dessert for a week and when we run out, dessert is just whatever fruit we have in the fridge. But nevertheless, he likes to ask even when he knows. A rhetorical questions!

He began asking after i started rewarding him with desserts for good table manners. What is good table manner? It’s actually pretty simple, sit still in his chair and stay seated for 30 min (unless it’s to go potty), use his utensils, and use napkins not sleeves. Dessert is usually something I bake over the weekend and if we run out, it is a piece of fruit.

I prefer to bake instead of buying because I am a control freak. This way I know what goes in and I can reduce the amount of fat & sugar used. So I’ve been baking once a week, usually on Sat. I am no pastry/dessert chef, in fact I suck at it and can only make 4 things: snickerdoodles, chocolate chip cookies, brownies, and Rice Krispy Treats. Time to start learning.

So what is for dessert today? Chocolate Dipped Strawberries! Doesn’t look good but they’re yummy!

2 thoughts on “What’s for dessert, Mommy?

Leave a Reply

